Saturday, August 15, 2009

False starts

In athletics, the false start rule used to be:
If you false start, you get a warning. If you do it again, you are disqualified.
From next year, the rule will be:
If you false start, you are immediately disqualified.

I am happy with either version - the old one made for more build-up and tension, but did mean things ran over.

However, the current rule is a joke. Currently:
If anyone false starts, the whole field gets a warning. Anyone who then false starts is disqualified.
For example, today, in a World Championship 100m quarter final, lane 6 false started. Everyone got a warning. Then, lanes 2 and 3 false started and were disqualified. Lanes 2, 3 and 6 all made the same mistake, but lane 6 wasn't disqualified because he did it first.

This is the number one stupidest rule in sport. I remember thinking this when they introduced it, and I am delighted to see it being changed for next year.

Rant over.

1 comment:

Unknown said...

Yesterday: World mens 100m semi finals. Usain Bolt false starts. Tyrone Edgar false starts and is disqualified. Both made the same mistake! If it had happened the other way round, Bolt would have been DQd!